Gusto Reviews

Get recent customer reviews of Gusto, with ratings, pricing, essential company info, and answers to common questions.

5 min read • Last updated on December 12th, 2018

Gusto is a software company that creates web-based benefits, payroll, and human resource management software for small and medium-sized businesses that are based in the United States.

Special Offer

Try Gusto Free

Get 1 month of Gusto FREE!

Start Free Trial

Get started in minutes.

Auto tax filing and digital paystubs.

Includes benefits, onboarding, and compliance features.

Gusto Pricing:

Plan Name

Monthly Fee

Core

$39.00 + $6.00 per employee

Base

$39.00 + $12.00 per employee

Concierge

$149.00 + $12.00 per employee

Gusto Optional Add-Ons:

Option

Setup Fee

Monthly Fee

Health benefits

$0.00

$0.00 (pay only for premiums)

401(k) retirement plans

$500.00

$40.00 (includes 5 participants, extra participants are $8.00 per month)

Workers’ comp insurance

$0.00

$0.00 (pay only for premiums)

529 college savings plans

$0.00

$18.00 (includes 3 participants, extra participants are $6.00 per month)

Health Savings Account (HSA)

$0.00

$2.50 per participant

Flexible Spending Account (FSA)

$0.00

$20.00 (includes 5 participants, extra participants are $4.00 per month)

Commuter benefits

$0.00

$20.00 (includes 5 participants, extra participants are $4.00 per month)

Gusto Reviews
Gusto Summary:

Pros: Inexpensive, easy to use, simple setup.

Cons: No mobile app (although it's available on mobile device web browsers). No weekend support.

Bottomline: Great value. Excellent choice for small businesses looking to automate HR tasks.

Gusto FAQs:

What is Gusto's price range?

Gusto pricing ranges from $39.00 per month + $6.00 per employee to $149.00 per month + $12.00 per employee. This includes Gusto Payroll pricing.

How do I get in contact with Gusto support?

You can reach Gusto support for payroll at the Gusto customer support phone number, (844) 302-5664. Gusto hours for customer service are 6:00 am - 5:00 pm. You can also get help on the Gusto website by clicking "Chat with us" in the lower right corner. For questions about benefits try Gusto email at benefits@gusto.com.

Is there a Gusto app for my iPhone?

There isn't a Gusto payroll app for iOS or Android for that matter, but they do have a mobile-friendly website that you can access your account from. Note that there is another company named Gusto out there - it offers a service for restaurants and has a mobile app, but it has nothing to do with the Gusto company in this article.

What is Gusto?

Gusto is a software company that offers a fully suite of web-based services to meet small business HR needs. This includes payroll, benefits, onboarding, compliance and much more.

Gusto News & Activity:

Date

News or Activity

November 1, 2018

Gusto and ScaleFactor Announce Exclusive Partnership

July 31, 2018

Gusto Raises $140 Million Series C

July 19, 2018

Gusto and Xero Announce Partnership

June 22, 2018

Gusto Launches Flexible Pay to Allow Employees to Manage Payday

Gusto Key Information Table:

Co-founders

Joshua Reeves, Edward Kim, and Tomer London

Founded

2011

Headquarters

San Francisco, CA, USA

CEO

Joshua Reeves

Number of Employees

600+

Number of Customers

60,000

Phone Number

+1 800-936-0383

Address

525 20th Street San Francisco, CA 94107

Website

Gusto.com

Gusto Reviews:

Reviewer

Date

Rating

Review

brex.com

Dec 6, 2018

★★★☆☆

Brex migrated payroll vendors two times in its first few years, which is not something we recommend. Brex started on Rippling (it was a fellow YC Winter’17 company) and then switched to Gusto because initially Rippling did not provide benefits. Our first hire wanted benefits and we wanted to be able to manage it in one system. At the time, our team was only four people and therefore not able to use Gusto’s benefits offering. We then had to hire a separate benefits insurance broker and managed benefits administration of our health, dental and vision plans outside of Gusto. As we started to scale, we ultimately went back to Rippling for its added benefit of being easy to manage IT provisioning (every new employee gets automatically added to subscriptions like Dropbox, Slack, G-Suite and Office 365). Fortunately, Rippling allows you to use their new benefits offering or keep your original broker, but still manage benefits administration and onboarding in one software. The single largest driver for Brex to switch to Rippling was the integration with our hiring software, Lever. We wanted to seamlessly hire someone and then have our payroll system automatically update with that person’s start date and compensation details. This eliminates the issue of human error, which is common in manual payroll processes. Brex did not use a PEO because it hired a CFO and General Counsel early on, who both had experience managing payroll and HR.

tkt2rde - bogleheads.org

Dec 1, 2018

★★★★★

Fast forward to ongoing frustration with Paychex and the difficulty of their archaic processes. I decided to hit up one of the simple online startups for HR that was more with the times and cancelled my contract with Paychex and switched to Gusto. This has been an amazing difference. I am receiving better support, it is 100x easier to use, and it costs considerably less.

Chris Coyier - blog.codepen.io

Nov 21, 2018

★★★★★

We use Gusto for our payroll. It's user-friendly and reliable. It also has handy features for employees to manage their own tax withholding or make charitable donations directly from their paychecks.

IlliniMom2021 - reddit.com

Nov 1, 2018

★★★★★

For managing payroll for a small business, I highly recommend looking at Gusto. We use them and it’s great. Direct deposit into employees accounts. They create and file all of the tax reports to government.

jetteh22 - reddit.com

Oct 17, 2018

★★★☆☆

Just switched from Gusto to JustWorks. JustWorks is much more expensive but they offer a lot more benefits even for super small two-person businesses like ours.Even though we are paying more per month in subscription for payroll now we are saving more than what we are paying extra by going with them and saving on health, dental and life insurance. And now the business pays for that stuff for us as an expense instead of us paying it out of pocket.If you have benefits/want benefits and you’re a small business check them out. They’ll give you quotes, etc before you have to sign up so you can determine if it’ll be more affordable in the long run.Edit: Gusto was really great for what we needed it for. But them not allowing benefits for an owners-only small business kinda sucked. But in terms of ease-of-use and stuff it was great.

Reddit User - reddit.com

Oct 17, 2018

★★★★☆

I’ve used Gusto and Intuit. Gusto is very simple and does a good job at doing what they do, especially if you only have a couple employees.

heyron_ - reddit.com

Oct 17, 2018

★★★★★

As a former bookkeeper for some years I feel like Gusto really is the best, too.

kampung_boy - reddit.com

Oct 17, 2018

★★★★★

Gusto really is the best at what they do. I've had no problems using it.

@OhHelloItsJeff - twitter.com

Oct 8, 2018

★★★★★

We use Gusto for our contractors, it works well.

Jessica Berkley - bbbooksinc.com

Sep 25, 2018

★★★★★

We love Gusto at BBB! In fact, we use Gusto for our own payroll!

@JustinTuchek - twitter.com

Sep 22, 2018

★★★★☆

We used Gusto for payroll for a long time, seemed pretty simple. Not sure if they do international stuff though.

scratchnsniff - news.ycombinator.com

Aug 1, 2018

★★★★★

Our small company, of 7 full timers and a handful of part timers, switched to Gusto for payroll about a year ago. I know our founder who had previously managed all this himself has saved himself a ton of time and stress. He's generally a frugal person, so if he was won over it's probably worth a look. Since then I've know a few other agencies who have switched to Gusto as well. From an employees perspective I have to say it's been great. I get emails when I get paid, I can easily grab my paystubs, and access to my W-2 without and issue.

phren0logy - news.ycombinator.com

Aug 1, 2018

★★★★★

I'm solo and I still find gusto to be worth the money. On the rare occasions I've needed to contact them, they have been great.

@jcwinter - twitter.com

Jul 9, 2018

★★★★★

We use Gusto for payroll and love them, they don't have benefits in NC yet :-(

Andrew Youderian - ecommercefuel.com

Jul 6, 2018

★★★★☆

We use Gusto for payroll, but we can’t use that for anyone outside the states, it’s all inside. So, anyone outside of the states is basically considered a contractor.

smt88 - news.ycombinator.com

Jul 1, 2018

★★★★★

I use Gusto and like it for its simplicity. It makes a complicated part of running a company much smoother.

lmeyerov - news.ycombinator.com

Jul 1, 2018

★★★★★

We use Gusto across multiple jurisdictions where tax laws change every year and our bookkeeper our employees put them through funny circumstances. I've been impressed by how many problems they've made invisible (just notify us) or we sent over and they handled. Cannot say the same about other folks we use here (ex: Zenefits caused multiple lapses in coverage).

Mike Shaefer - starterstory.com

Jun 25, 2018

★★★★★

We use Gusto for processing payroll. We love being able to access all our data anywhere with a wifi connection.

taxresolutionprofessionals.com

Jun 20, 2018

★★★★★

We use Gusto (formerly Zenpayroll) and recommend it to our clients as its the easiest system out there and cheaper than most accountants.

superwormy - reddit.com

May 10, 2018

★★★★★

I'll second the recommendation of Gusto. We have employees in 3 states, plus contractors in many others.We've had only great experiences with Gusto - easy to use, easy to set up, reliable, and awesome support staff.

jetteh22 - reddit.com

May 10, 2018

★★★★★

Gusto has been the best and most affordable payroll software I’ve used. Love it.

roy_lobster - reddit.com

May 10, 2018

★★★☆☆

I recently switched from Gusto to OnPay. It’s a bit cheaper and a lot faster (deposits in 2 business days instead of 4, contractors & employees. OnPay would probably do your onboarding and setup as well.

Apptubrutae - reddit.com

May 9, 2018

★★★★★

I’m a gusto guy. I don’t have any multi-state issues so I can’t say how they’ve handled that, but I’ve had nothing but positive experiences. Great customer support and responsive live chat and super easy on boarding.

Andrew St.Hilaire - community.xero.com

Mar 29, 2018

★★★★★

We switched to Gusto (formerly Zen Payroll) and have never looked back.

Michael Weiss - community.xero.com

Mar 29, 2018

★★★★★

I second that. Gusto is awesome. It's so easy compared to Xero, and it's basically fool-proof. With Gusto, it's almost impossible to make a serious payroll or tax error. With Xero, I was always worried I would screw something up if I clicked the wrong button or forgot to review the tax submittals within the appropriate timeframe. And the few times I did screw something up, it seemed like there was very little I could do to make corrections afterwards. Another things about Gusto: customer service is excellent. It's totally worth the additional expense for payroll. No, I don't work for them :)

Nancy Leach - community.xero.com

Mar 29, 2018

★★★★★

I have used Gusto in the past, and it's very easy to use and integrates seamlessly. I'm currently using SurePayroll, and it's great as well.

Btc_noob321 - reddit.com

Mar 13, 2018

★★★★★

We use ADP and love it. They’re very convenient and great customer service. Although initially very expensive, we switched to Gusto(also amazing) then back to ADP because they matched our rates(quick hack to get your rates down severely from ADP).

beley - reddit.com

Jan 1, 2018

★★★★★

We switched to Gusto payroll service provider. They handle all the setup, remit all the taxes, file all the monthly, quarterly, or annual filings with the state and federal government, generate W2s, and even have partners for workers comp and health benefits. It's very affordable and honestly I wish they were around when we hired our first employee.

furushotakeru - reddit.com

Dec 6, 2017

★★☆☆☆

I just switched to Gusto a couple weeks ago. They are cheaper than ADP wholesale but are really clunky to do anything and require 4 business days to process direct deposit so I am regretting the move. Fortunately I only have 3 payroll clients plus my own firm.

brianwawok - news.ycombinator.com

Jul 21, 2017

★★★★★

I have liked Gusto a lot. You have saved me so much trouble. Thanks for making a great product with really great support team. I realized how much work Gusto saved me when I had to go file nanny taxes on my own. I actually wrote in and asked if you had a nanny plugin yet (sadly, no, but you pointed me to an overpriced competitor that had it). I find Gusto is great for the payroll side of things, and Quickbooks online is decent for the bookkeeping side of things. I went through every accounting package out there, I wanted to use a competitor.. but quickbooks was just a bit easier. They do have a payroll piece, but I have not tried it due to liking Gusto. It syncs fine with Gusto. Taken together the combo is under 100 bucks a month. Not sure the exact scale level, but I think they should work for 2 employees up to maybe 50 employees. I have no idea past that, and at some point I would imagine you need some kind of HR department and a real bookkeeper.. but I can at least vouch for the combo for early employees.Then for actual tax time, I just found a local CPA that came recommended. He doesn't like gusto, but he likes quickbooks.. so I can just share my quickbooks accounts and he can do his stuff.