PenSoft Payroll Solutions Reviews

Discover PenSoft Payroll Solutions's payroll solutions for your business. Includes info on PenSoft Payroll Solutions, free trials, reviews, pricing, and FAQs.

Updated on December 17th, 2019

The SMB Guide is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

PenSoft Payroll Solutions by Peninsula Software of Virginia develops, produces, supports, and distributes payroll software for small to mid-sized businesses. Even though PenSoft Payroll is sophisticated and packed with features, it is easy enough for novices to use.

Also Consider

Gusto Payroll Software

Get 1 month of Gusto FREE!

Start Free Trial

No extra fees.

Made for mobile.

Auto tax filing and digital paystubs.

Pricing:

Plan Name

Pricing

Lite for 1–25 Employees

$269.00 per year, $249.00 for 2020 renewal

Standard for 1–50 Employees

$429.00 per year, $389.00 for 2020 renewal

Pro for 1–50 Employees

$609.00 per year, $549.00 for 2020 renewal

Enterprise for 1–50 Employees

$849.00 per year, $779.00 for 2020 renewal

Platinum for 1–50 Employees

$1,389.00 per year, $1,229.00 for 2020 renewal

Premier for 1–50 Employees

$1,939.00 per year, $1,629.00 for 2020 renewal

Review:

PenSoft Payroll Solutions lacks features like multi-state coverage and automatic payments. It's also missing common features like workers' compensation, flexible and multiple pay schedules, garnishments, integrated pre-tax benefits, reimbursements, accounting integrations, paperless employee onboarding, an employee database, and overtime tracking.

Clients will enjoy some unique features like exporting payroll data as a spreadsheet or plain text, chat support, and data migration. Pricing begins at $269.00 per year, while closely-ranked software ezPaycheck and PayWindow Payroll begin at $99.00 per year per installation and $89.95 per year, respectively. ezPaycheck also offers more features than PenSoft Payroll Solutions, like workers' compensation, multi-state coverage, flexible payment schedules, and accounting integrations, to name a few.

Our top-rated software solutions, Gusto and Zenefits, charge $39.00 (base fee) plus $6.00 per employee per month, and $10.00 plus $6.00 per employee per month, respectively. PenSoft Payroll is a cheaper solution, but offers far fewer services in comparison.

Overall, PenSoft Payroll Solutions is missing a few of the basic features some businesses may need. Their services are adequate, but a cheaper service like ezPaycheck provides more features at a lower fee.

Key Information:

Legal Name

Peninsula Software of Virginia, Inc.

Founder

Leroy Newman

Founding Date

Jan 01, 1983

Address

151 Enterprise Drive, Newport News, VA 23603

Number of Employees

50

Number of Customers

99

Email

info@pensoft.com

Telephone

1 (888) 736-7638

Website

https://pensoft.com

FAQs:

What is PenSoft Payroll Solutions' price range?

PenSoft Payroll Solutions' pricing for a business with 1–50 employees ranges between $269.00 and $1,939.00 per year to start off, depending on your number of employees. For pricing information for companies with more than 50 employees, visit PenSoft Payroll Solutions' website.

Is there a PenSoft Payroll Solutions free trial?

Yes. Access your 30-day free trial on PenSoft Payroll Solutions' homepage.

Customer Reviews:

Booger

Reviewed: Mar 05, 2009

Source: ATX Community

I recommend PenSoft Payroll. Give them a call at 1 (757) 873-2976. The program supports multiple FEIN's. They will be happy to answer your questions. Program works very smoothly (I do my company's payroll with it).

Sherri Smalling

Reviewed: Jul 26, 2019

Source: Alignable

We use Pensoft payroll software, it does all the tax reports and has an export feature. Best part is you only pay an annual fee that is very reasonable. I do recommend a professional service if you have more than 25 employees.

PETITFIN

Reviewed: Apr 24, 2014

Source: TaxProTalk

We have used PenSoft for over 10 years. Inexpensive, and works well for small to medium sized companies. Our largest client only has about 40 employees, so not sure how well it would work for larger companies, but don't see any reason it would not. We have about 125 payroll clients, and it is a part time job to handle them easily for one of my staff.

TaxDude

Reviewed: May 01, 2014

Source: TaxProTalk

I've used Pensoft for a very long time. It's pretty good for the money.