Stripe Payments Reviews, Pricing Info and FAQs

Find out more about Stripe payments with customer reviews, pricing information and frequently asked questions.

Updated on January 27th, 2020

The SMB Guide is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Updates:

Updated 23rd of January 2020

We have updated the pricing to include information about Stripe's custom package. We have also updated the format of our article.

Stripe payments is an online payment processing company that allows users to accept payments online. Small businesses use Stripe to accept payments from clients. Stripe can be used in over 135 countries worldwide to transfer money.

Pricing:

Stripe charges a pay-as-you-go fee of 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction. They also offer a custom package for businesses with large payment volumes or unique business models.

Stripe Payments Reviews
Review:

Pros: Great reporting capabilities and predictable flat-rate pricing.

Cons: Does not accept PayPal payments.

Bottomline: Fantastic platform to securely facilitate online payment processing.

Key Information:

Legal Name

Stripe

Founder

John Collison

Founding Date

Jan 01, 2010

Address

510 Townsend Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Number of Employees

3000

Number of Customers

100000

Email

info@stripe.com

Telephone

1 (888) 963-8955

Website

https://stripe.com/

FAQs:

How much does Stripe charge?

Stripe charges a flat fee of 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction.

Are Stripe payments secure?

Yes. Stripe is a highly secure platform that is a PCI Service Provider Level 1 and all transactions are SSL (Secure Socket Layer) protected. All card numbers are encrypted on disk with AES-256. Decryption keys are stored on separate machines.

How does Stripe payments work?

Stripe payments is an online payment processing platform that enables users to accept online payments in various forms.

How quickly does Stripe pay?

Stripe takes 7-10 days for the first payout on all new accounts after the first successful payment is received. Payouts thereafter will be processed according to the account’s payout schedule.

How much does Stripe charge for ACH?

ACH payments on Stripe cost 0.80%, capped at $5, with no monthly fees or verification fees.

Does Stripe offer recurring payments?

Yes. Stripe does offer recurring payments.

Does Stripe charge for refunds?

Stripe does not charge any fees to refund a charge, but the fees from the original charge are not returned.

Can Stripe accept international payments?

Yes. Stripe is a fully integrated, global platform that can support online and in-person payments, locally and internationally.

What is Stripe payout?

Stripe payout is the process where Stripe makes deposits from your available account balance into your bank account for payments that you have processed.

Is there a Stripe payment integration for e-commerce?

There is a Stripe integration for Woocommerce, the online store platform. With this integration, customers on your e-commerce store can pay for their items through Stripe.

Can I sign up for a Stripe credit card?

Stripe Inc. recently announced that they will start issuing credit cards, but the product has not been rolled out yet. In the meantime, Stripe credit card processing can accept payments from someone's credit card to another individual.

What is Stripe connect?

Stripe Connect is the Stripe payment gateway for businesses who need a third party host to conduct their transactions. With Connect, you can make Stripe online payments to sellers in over 25 countries.

Stripe Recurring Payments

Where can I use stripe recurring payments?

If you need to bill your clients for a recurring amount, or if you need to pay a recurring amount, you can use Stripe recurring payments to automate this activity.

What are the various Stripe payment methods that I can use?

What is a Stripe merchant account?

A merchant account is an account used by businesses who rely on the Stripe API to make and receive payments from customers.

Customer Reviews:

Kent McCorkle

Reviewed: Aug 08, 2016

Source: Steps to Passive Income

There are definitely some merchant accounts that will gouge you on fees which is why I recommended Stripe above. (http://www.stripe.com) No monthly expense and low processing fees. Once we get larger we might look in to other processors, but Stripe is great for most people when starting out.

davismwfl

Reviewed: Jul 11, 2016

Source: Hacker News

Stripe has a lot of advantages, API being a huge one. I have heard of a few people that complain about delays in responses from them, but at least for me I have never had that. In fairness too, 99% of the time the answers I have needed are in their documentation.

djazzie

Reviewed: Sep 21, 2018

Source: Reddit

I just switched to stripe and I’m fairly pleased so far. Not using them directly for invoicing, only to accept credit card payments.

Donna Sander

Reviewed: Sep 11, 2018

Source: Wired Impact

STRIPE is NOT user friendly. Political donations need to extra fields on their form, occupation and employer. There are no free plugins that interface with STRIPE that I have found that work for this purpose yet. Oh yeah, there are some great PAID ones, but they want an arm and a leg, not once, but every year. Some of them more than I pay for the hosting account. So if you have a good wordpress interface with stripe FOR POLITICAL DONATIONS, that works, AND IS FREE (or under $30) …PLEASE…..tell me about it. becuase I”m tired of installing and uninstalling plugin after plugin.

chrishynes

Reviewed: Apr 06, 2018

Source: Hacker News

Its not just a communication problem, it's a pattern. You guys did the same thing last year when you stopped returning fees on refunds. I couldn't believe my eyes when I read that you weren't returning fees anymore. I get not returning the flat 0.30 transaction fee, but not returning the % fees smacks of being more worried about the corporate bottom line than customers. Many processors refund the % fees, and there's no way you couldn't negotiate special dispensation with ""the various payment partners we work with"" to at least be able to return the % fee. I used to unabashedly recommend Stripe as the best payment processor -- a little expensive on the rate, but easy to set up and no monthly or hidden fees to worry about. That changed as soon as I had my first new customer screaming about getting whacked with fees on a refund. Didn't affect my account, and your messaging was horrible on that change as well, so I blissfully recommended unaware of the change until a new customer to whom I'd sung the praises of Stripe got hit and had to yank all of the Stripe code and go to a direct processor. Just because you grandfather existing customers doesn't mean you get off scot-free on unfavorable policies. My recommendation immediately changed to only use Stripe if access to special niche features like Stripe Connect or non card payments were required, and otherwise use a direct card processor with defined fees (and much lower rates, like 0.5% lower at least). Clearly your focus has changed from doing right by the little guy to ""customers handling large amounts of revenue"" and policies tilted toward the bottom line vs ""rightness"". That's fine, and a natural part of many corporations during growth... Just telling you how it's affected my perceptions of Stripe and my recommendations to customers. Negatively. -- Depends on volume and risk profile. There are many very sharp Authorize.Net resellers out there that will work with you to get a great rate for your situation. I've seen 2.2% rates on 50k/mo of processing for low risk customers. Of course, with that you get some additional fees to factor in -- monthly statement fee, international, Amex, etc... but it pencils out to way lower than 3% at a decent volume. For example, these guys: https://www.netcompaysystem.com And many of these processors will give you gross deposit which is the only way to make things easy for an accountant. The net fees model Stripe uses is a nightmare for reconciliation at any sort of scale. This isn't to say I've abandoned Stripe entirely -- there are some cases where it makes sense, when you're actually using some of the advanced features and API, not just a straightforward card charge. I just completed a Stripe Connect integration that handles millions a month for several clients... but even there you run into half baked/stapled on feelings when you try to produce a full featured process that works at scale. For example, there's no straightforward way to provide a batch report for a Stripe Connect client -- the charge ID's don't match up with the platform account, and the only way to fully map which charges/refunds/chargebacks are in a given deposit for the client account is to link them up by amount and date/time.... -- Research around. Many of the same processors will work with you even at low volume, although the rate wouldn't be as good. Of course, with little or no volume, the rate doesn't matter as much.