Neo4j Reviews

Learn about Neo4j database software for businesses. Includes info on Neo4j, free trials, pricing, customer reviews, and FAQs.

Updated on July 11th, 2019

The SMB Guide is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Neo4j is a graph database software created for businesses of all sizes. With Neo4j, users have access to a range of features including user security, user management, unlimited graph size, and LDAP integration.

Pricing:

Neo4j offers an Enterprise Edition plan for $36,000.00, according to our research. In addition, the company also offers a free 'Community Edition', which is available for download on neo4j.com.

Neo4J Reviews
Review:

Pros: Good customer support. Able to store large amounts of data. Easy to learn and manage.

Cons: Community Edition doesn't scale with multiple cores.

Bottomline: Great value with a clear interface. The software is fast and easy to navigate.

Key Information:

Co-founders

Emil Eifrem, Johan Svensson

Founded

2002

Headquarters

San Mateo, CA

CEO

Emil Eifrem

Phone

1 (855) 636-4532

Address

111 E 5th Avenue San Mateo, CA 94401, USA

Website

www.neo4j.com

News & Activity:

Date

News or Activity

December 13, 2018

Neo4j Accelerates Growth with Addition of New CFO, Board Member.

December 11, 2018

Neo4j Appoints Denise Persson to Board of Directors.

November 21, 2018

Neo4j Enterprise Edition is now available under a commercial license.

November 5, 2018

Graph database platform Neo4j locks in $80 mln Series E.

September 27, 2018

Neo4j Expands Graph Platform with Neo4j 3.5, Powers AI and ML Systems.

September 27, 2018

Neo4j Wins Bossie Awards 2018 for best open source software for data storage and analytics.

July 20, 2018

Neo4j Launches Commercial Kubernetes Application on Google Cloud Platform Marketplace.

Reviews:

Source

Review

Andrey H. - hackernoon.com

Initially, it was very simple and after few minutes of reading docs you can already make some non-trivial queries. But when you start making more and more complex queries you start to see that you can’t understand how query is working, and after each change you need to use Profile.

gr__or - news.ycombinator.com

The largest flaw I see with Neo4j is that it forces you to think of your entities as either vertices or edges and that line tends to be not as clear as you might expect. So I feel like the vertice/edge distinction Neo4j makes, gets in the way of changing data model needs and I ultimately think that modeling your data as a graph is not helpful. Though it can be extremely helpful in querying and that's where its biggest strength lies.

subvertallchris - reddit.com

The team working on Neo4j.rb are fantastic. Responsive, smart, helpful, dedicated. The Neo4j.rb gem itself is excellent. If you like ActiveRecord, you should find it easy to pickup. It's easy to pickup and very flexible.

Delthram - reddit.com

Neo4j is for graph data, meaning you not only care about the data but you also care about the connections and want them to have meaning. It's really useful for things like crm's where the connections to things have meaning.

Brian U. - sitepoint.com

There are many awesome things that you can do with Neo4j. Not only is it a great way to store your data in an easy and intuitive way, it provides a lot of benefits for efficient querying of highly connected data.

FAQs:

What is Neo4j good for?

Neo4j offers an array of useful features, such as user security, data management, LDAP intergration, data storage, and more. With Neo4j, users have access to unlimited graph sizes.

Read our review of Neo4j.

Is Neo4j free?

Yes. Neo4j does offer paid and free plans. The 'Community Edition' plan is free and fully open source.

Read our Neo4j review.

How much does Neo4j enterprise cost?

Neo4j Enterprise Edition plan cost $36,000.00, according to our research.

Read customer reviews of Neo4j.

What's Neo4j?

Neo4j is an open source graph database software created to optimize fast management and storage.

Is Neo4j a database?

Yes, Neo4j is a graph database software developed by Neo4j, Inc.

Is there a Neo4j free trial?

No, Neo4j does not offer a free trial. However, the company does offer a free 'Community Edition' plan. To download the free software, go to neo4j.com and click 'Download' in the top right corner of the homepage.