Final Paycheck Laws by State

Learn about the final paycheck laws for each state with a table listing the laws by state. Includes frequently asked questions.

5 min read • Last updated on November 20th, 2018

In the event that one of your employees quits or is fired, there are particular final paycheck laws that govern exactly how and when your last payment to them must be made.

In some States, an employee must be paid immediately when their employment is terminated. In others, the paycheck must be received within a certain number of days. We've put together a table with the laws for each state.

Final Paycheck Laws by State:

State

Employee is Fired

Employee Quits

Alabama

No law.

No law.

Alaska

Within three working days of termination.

On the next scheduled payday.

Arizona

Within seven working days, or on the next payday. Whichever occurs first.

On the next scheduled payday.

Arkansas

Within seven days.

No law.

California

Final pay must be granted at the time of termination.

Within 72 hours, unless prior notice has been provided.

Colorado

Final paycheck must be given to employee immediately.

On the next scheduled payday.

Connecticut

The next business day.

On the next scheduled payday.

Delaware

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

District of Columbia

The next business day.

On the next scheduled payday, or within seven days - whichever comes first.

Florida

No law.

No law.

Georgia

No law.

No law.

Hawaii

Immediately or on the next business day if necessary.

On the next scheduled payday, or immediately if prior notice has been provided.

Idaho

On the next scheduled payday, or within 10 days, whichever occurs first.

On the next scheduled payday, or within 10 days, whichever occurs first.

Illinois

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Indiana

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Iowa

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Kansas

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Kentucky

On the next scheduled payday or within 14 days, which ever occurs later.

On the next scheduled payday or within 14 days, which ever occurs later.

Louisiana

On the next scheduled payday or within 15 days, which ever occurs earlier.

On the next scheduled payday or within 15 days, which ever occurs earlier.

Maine

On the next scheduled payday or within two weeks, whichever is earlier.

On the next scheduled payday or within two weeks, whichever is earlier.

Maryland

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Massachusetts

Final check must be provided immediately.

On the next scheduled payday, or on the Saturday following an employee's resignation.

Michigan

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Minnesota

Final check must be provided immediately.

On the next scheduled payday, or on the following payday if the next one is less than 5 days away.

Missisippi

No law.

No law.

Missouri

Final paycheck must be provided immediately.

No law.

Montana

Final paycheck must be provided immediately.

On the next scheduled payday, or within 15 days, whichever is earlier.

Nebraska

On the next scheduled payday or within 2 weeks, whichever occurs first.

On the next scheduled payday or within 2 weeks, whichever occurs first.

Nevada

Final paycheck must be provided immediately.

On the next scheduled payday or within 7 days, whichever occurs first.

New Hampshire

Within 72 hours, or on next scheduled payday if employee is laid-off.

On the next payday or within 72 hours if prior notice was given.

New Jersey

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

New Mexico

Within 5 days.

On the next scheduled payday.

New York

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

North Carolina

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

North Dakota

On the next scheduled payday or within 15 days, whichever occurs first.

On the next scheduled payday.

Ohio

No law.

On the first day of the month for wages that were earned in the first half of the previous month, or on the 15th day of the month for wages earned in the second half of the previous month.

Oklahoma

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Oregon

By the end of the next business day.

Immediately if the employee has provided 48 hours notice. Within 5 days or on next payday.

Pennsylvania

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Rhode Island

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

South Carolina

Within 48 hours, or on the next scheduled payday.

No law.

South Dakota

On the next scheduled payday or when employer's property is returned.

On the next scheduled payday or when employer's property is returned.

Tennessee

On the next scheduled payday or within 21 days, whichever is later.

On the next scheduled payday or within 21 days, whichever is later.

Texas

Within 6 days.

On the next scheduled payday.

Utah

Within 24 hours.

On the next scheduled payday.

Vermont

Within 72 hours.

On the next scheduled payday.

Virginia

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

Washington

On the next scheduled payday.

On the next scheduled payday.

West Virginia

With 72 hours.

Immediately if employee has given at least one pay period of notice. On the next scheduled payday if no prior notice has been given.

Wisconsin

On the next scheduled payday or within one month, whichever occurs first. Final check must be provided within 24 hours if termination is not the employee's fault.

On the next scheduled payday.

Wyoming

Within 5 business days.

Within 5 business days.

Final Paycheck Laws FAQs:

Can an employer hold your last paycheck if you quit?

No employer can legally refuse to pay you what you are owed when you quite. However, the timing of your final paycheck depends on the governing State laws for final paychecks.

Should employees provide advanced notice if they are going to quit?

Technically, an employee can quit at any time. However, for scheduling purposes and as a courtesy to their employer, employees should give notice. Most employment agreements actually stipulate a certain length of time that the employee must allow for when providing their notice.

Should an employee be removed from the payroll once they quit?

An employee's information can be removed from your payroll system after their last paycheck has been paid out. You can learn more by reading our article on How to Do Payroll.