2019 State Minimum Wage Increases – The Latest

The FLSA determines the minimum wage that employees may earn. Learn more about the minimum wage increases that are imminent for the relevant states in 2019.

Updated on December 5th, 2018

The SMB Guide is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

2019 will welcome minimum wage increases for employees in many U.S. states. This encouraging news will raise the standard of living for impoverished workers and reduce gender- and race-based income inequality.

The minimum wage rate is the lowest hourly pay that employees can earn, as determined by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The minimum wage rate for 2019 will be increased in several states, including 17 states between December 31, 2018, and January 1, 2019.

Under the FLSA, the current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour but the FLSA does not supersede any state laws that are more favorable to employees. Some employees, such as tipped workers, are exempt from minimum wage requirements as they are not protected under the FLSA.

2019 State Minimum Wage Increase Rates

State

2018 Rate

2019 Rate

Arizona

$10.50

$11.00

Arizona (tipped employees)

$7.50

$8.00

California (25 employees or less)

$10.50

$11.00

California (more than 25 employees)

$11.00

$12.00

Colorado

$10.20

$11.10

Colorado (tipped employees)

$7.18

$8.08

D.C.

$14.00

$15.00

Delaware

$8.25

$9.25

Florida

$8.25

$8.46

Florida (tipped employees)

$5.23

$5.44

Maine

$10.00

$11.00

Maine (tipped employees)

$5.00

$5.50

Massachusetts

$11.00

$12.00

Massachusetts (tipped employees)

$3.75

$4.35

Minnesota (large employers)

$9.65

$9.86

Minnesota (small employers)

$7.87

$8.04

Montana

$8.30

$8.50

New Jersey

$8.60

$8.85

New York

$10.40

$11.10

Ohio

$8.30

$8.55

Ohio (tipped employees)

$4.15

$4.30

Rhode Island

$10.10

$10.50

South Dakota

$8.85

$9.10

South Dakota (tipped employees)

$4.43

$4.55

Vermont

$10.50

$10.78

Vermont (tipped employees)

$5.25

$5.39

Washington

$11.50

$12.00

Effective Dates for Minimum Wage Increases:

The majority of the states will implement the minimum wage increase on January 1, 2019 with the exception of D.C on July 1, 2019, Delaware on October 1, 2019 and New York on December 31, 2019.

Please note that the states of Alaska and Missouri are yet to announce 2019 minimum wage increases.

Employer Responsibilities

The FLSA requires a minimum wage to be paid for all hours that an employee is permitted to work for an employer, and that an overtime wage is paid for all hours worked above 40 hours in a week. Employers should strictly adhere to the FLSA in order to avoid expensive fines, claims and lawsuits in the future.